Parish Organizational Meeting Minutes, August 11, 2019

Parish Organizational Meeting

August 11, 2019

St. Benedict’s Episcopal Church

The meeting was opened in prayer at 9:20 a.m., with Fr. Ed Lovelady, Vicar, presiding. Approximately 57 congregants were present. (Vicar has sign-in sheets.) Spencer Daniels was appointed clerk for the meeting.

Fr. Ed reviewed the steps taken so far toward becoming a parish, discussed the further steps to be taken, and entertained questions about the significance of becoming a parish.

Action Items: The congregation took the following actions in support of and in preparation for becoming a parish. All actions were by unanimous voice vote.

Re-affirmed Fr. Eldwin Lovelady to become Rector if parish status is approved. The following additional clergy were noted: Rev. John Van Eenwyk, Associate Priest; Rev. Kathy Prehm (ret.), Rev. Robert Williams (ret.), Deacon Tony Irving (ret.), and Deacon Becky Scott (ret.)

Reaffirmed the election of the existing Bishop’s Committee members (Paul Seabert, Gretchen O’ Connor, Mary-Michael Garlichs, Gen Gordon, Bob Knudson, Doretha Mowrey, Ralph Provencal, Mary Raines, and Jeff Zahir) to become the Vestry if parish status is granted, and the appointment of Spencer Daniels as clerk.

Reaffirmed the appointment of the current co-treasurers (Fran Frodsham and Don LaFord).

Reaffirm the elected convention delegates (Marth Liska, Gretchen O’Connor, Fran Frodsham, and Larry Frodsham) and alternates (Brenda Sloan and Nancy Zabel).

Affirmed the church’s commitment to the duties and responsibilities of Canon 8 of the Episcopal Diocese of Olympia.

Approved the by-laws.

It was noted that the Articles of Incorporation as St. Benedict’s Episcopal Church have been filed with the Secretary of State and are awaiting approval by the State.

The meeting was adjourned in prayer at 9:40 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Spencer W. Daniels, Clerk